Craze

Craze: College Advice please

17 comments / Topic created: 1181 days ago / Tags: college advice

Are you an undergrad at any college?

Help out the incoming freshmen by giving a little advice.

This can be things like, stuff to avoid, tips for studying, or how not sleeping for 48 hours feels.

So... that's bout it, feel free to jump in.

• IronChef
    IronChef1180 days ago

Oh man, my account still works

So I'm a freshman in Cal Poly and I just finished my first year and I will tell you, if you play your cards right, you will meet new people, try new things, and remember memories

What probably was the most beneficial to me was joining clubs. I mean, clubs are a. cheaper than frats and b. not full of jerks (except for skii club, there's not even freaking snow in Cal Poly so all they do is party). I joined around like ten clubs fall quarter but in the end, narrowed it down to six I am dedicated in. I am now an officer of two of them and developed a reputation for being really reliable. Clubs will introduce you to people who have the same interest as you so you know they're good people.

So there are two types of clubs I joined: academic clubs and ethnic clubs. They both act differently when it comes to how they do stuff but the people are all the same: friendly outgoing and full of trivia. I would recommend joining one of each (I'm in 3 of each) because one will give you connections to the job market and one will give you connections to parties. make friends with the officers and if they remember you, then they and everyone else will acknowledge you. Participate in club events or socials. Club events are used to boost reputation for things like Open House or some gathering to attract upcoming freshmen to boost your club's reputation while social events are just well, bonding with people. Both will give you not only a solid social network, but hook ups to food and certain drinks if you're into that.